7 Famous Football Clubs That Have Never Won A Major Trophy

Brighton & Hove Albion football clubs that have never won a trophy
(Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)

The ultimate target of football clubs is not just to win matches but also to win trophies, lots of them! This will earn them prestige, win them more fans, and equally generate more revenue.

Some clubs have become world-famous due to their tendency to consistently win major titles. The likes of Al Ahly, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United, Bayern Munich, etc. boast of huge trophy cabinets.

On the other hand, there are some popular football clubs that have never won a major trophy in their existence.

Major trophies in this sense includes any of the their domestic trophies including leagues or Cups or any continental trophies.

In this article, TOP SOCCER BLOG brings you 7 famous football clubs that have never won a major trophy.

1. FC Krasnodar

FC Krasnodar is a Russian professional football club based in Krasnodar that currently plays in the Russian Premier League.

Krasnodar are not just without a major trophy, but are undoubtedly one of the football clubs that have never won a trophy.

Although they are one of the top football clubs in Russia, they have failed to clinch a title.

The club was founded in 2008 and has never won a trophy in its 15 years of existence so far.

In 2009, the club was promoted to the Russian First Division, the second-highest division of the Russian football league system.

They were promoted to the Russian Premier League (1st division) for the first time ever in 2011, despite finishing 5th in the second division.

Krasnodar reached the Russian Cup final in 2015 but was narrowly defeated by Rostov in a penalty shoot-out.

Furthermore, it qualified for the UEFA Europa League for the first time in its history in 2015.

It qualified for the UEFA Champions League for the first time ever in 2021.

After the Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, UEFA suspended Krasnodar (along with other Russian clubs and national teams) from all European competitions.

2. Inter Miami

Inter Miami soccer clubs that have never won a trophy
(Photo by Mark Brown/Getty Images)

Established in 2018, Inter Miami is owned by football icon David Beckham.

The club began to play in the Major League Soccer (MLS) — the top-tier of soccer in the United States and Canada — in the 2020 season.

Unsurprisingly, the 5-year-old club has not won any trophy yet.

The likes of Gonzalo Higuain, Blaisie Matuidi, Kieran Gibbs, and DeAndre Yedlin are star players that have played for Inter Miami.

3. Union Berlin

Union Berlin football clubs who have never won a trophy
(Photo by Christof Koepsel/Getty Images)

Another famous European football club that has never won a major trophy is German Bundesliga side Union Berlin.

The closest that the Berlin-based club have come to winning a title was finishing as runners-up in the Bundesliga in 1923 and in the DFB Pokal in 2001.

From 2009 until 2019, they competed in the 2. Bundesliga — the second tier of German football.

In 2019, Union Berlin secured promotion to the Bundesliga for the first time in its history.

The club qualified for the inaugural UEFA Europa Conference League in 2021 after finishing 7th in the league and went a step better by qualifying for the Europa League in 2022.

Right now, Union Berlin are one of the football clubs that are on the rise.

4. Brighton & Hove Albion

Brighton & Hove Albion football clubs that have never won a trophy
(Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)

Founded in 1901 and nicknamed the “Seagulls,” Brighton & Hove Albion have never won a major trophy in their long history.

Their most successful period was between 1979 and 1983, when they played in the First Division and reached the 1983 FA Cup final, losing to Manchester United after a replay.

They were relegated from the First Division in the same season.

By the late 1990s, Brighton were in the 4th tier of English football and were having financial difficulties.

After narrowly avoiding relegation from the Football League to the Conference in 1997, a boardroom takeover saved the club from liquidation.

Successive promotions in 2001 and 2002 brought Brighton back to the second tier.

In 2011, the club moved into the 31,800-capacity Falmer Stadium — after 14 years without a permanent home ground.

In the 2016/17 season, Brighton finished second in the EFL Championship and were thus promoted to the Premier League — ending a 34-year absence from the top flight.

Brighton and Hove Albion have emerged as one of the most feared sides outside the top six in the Premier League and a major trophy is not far off from them.

5. CD Leganes

CD Leganes football clubs that have never won a trophy
(Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images)

Leganes was founded in 1928. It plays its home matches at the 12,454-capacity Estadio Municipal de Butarque.

The club has spent the vast majority of its existence in the lower leagues and has never won a major title.

In 2014, Leganes got promoted to the Segunda (2nd) Division after 10 seasons in the 3rd division of Spanish football.

It earned a promotion to La Liga for the first time in its history in 2016, becoming the 5th team from Madrid to ever play in La Liga — after Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, Rayo Vallecano, and Getafe.

Leganes remained in the top flight for 4 seasons, reaching its highest position ever by finishing 13th in the 2018/19 season.

In 2019/20, the club, unfortunately, got relegated from La Liga in the last game of the season.

At its peak, the team reached the semifinals of the Copa del Rey in 2018, eliminating Real Madrid in the quarterfinals thanks to a famous 2-1 win at the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium.

6. Brentford

Brentford football clubs that have never won a trophy
(Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Nicknamed “The Bees,” Brentford was founded in 1889 and played its home matches at Griffin Park from 1904 before moving to the Gtech Community Stadium in 2020.

The club have never won a major trophy due to their extremely poor record in finals.

However, they won the 2021 Championship Playoffs to be promoted to the English Premier League for the first time since the 1946/47 season.

Brentford finished 5th in the First Division in 1936, their highest-ever league finish.

7. AFC Wimbledon

AFC Wimbledon was founded in 2002 by former supporters of Wimbledon FC after the latter relocated to Milton Keynes and formally changed its name to MK Dons.

AFC Wimbledon currently hold the record for the longest unbeaten run of league matches in English senior football, having played 78 consecutive league games without a defeat between February 2003 and December 2004!

They are the first club formed in the 21st century to make it into the Football League.

In its 20 years of existence so far, Wimbledon have not yet won a major title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 Famous Soccer Players With PhDs (Doctorate Degrees) 
Gary Neville soccer players with PhD

5 Famous Soccer Players With PhDs (Doctorate Degrees) 

Soccer is a sport that requires physical and mental abilities to excel

Top 10 Best Sporting Directors In Football (2023)

Top 10 Best Sporting Directors In Football (2023)

A Sporting Director (also known as Director of Football) is an executive

You May Also Like