Your Guide To The 2022/23 UEFA Europa League

2022/23 UEFA Europa League
(Photo by OZAN KOSE/AFP via Getty Images)

The 2022/23 UEFA Europa League will be the 52nd edition of Europe’s secondary club football tournament organised by UEFA and the 14th since it was renamed from the UEFA Cup to the UEFA Europa League in 2009/10.

This season’s Europa League group stages will begin from the 8th of September 2022 to the 31st of May 2023.

The group stage was scheduled to commence in the first week of September 2022 and conclude in the first week of November so as to make way for the 2022 FIFA World Cup that will take place in Qatar between the 20th of November and the 18th of December 2022.

Winners of the Europa League automatically qualify for the UEFA Champions League group stages and also earn the right to play against the winners of the Champions League in the UEFA Super Cup final.

For the 2021/22 Europa League season, Eintracht Frankfurt defeated Rangers in the final 5-4 on penalties, following a 1-1 draw after extra time.

Doing so, Frankfurt won the competition for the second time in their history — and their first since 1980.

As the defending champions, Frankfurt qualified for the 2022/23 Champions League — which means they will only be able to defend their Europa League title if they finish third in their UCL group.

The title holders of UEFA’s third-tier club competition (the UEFA Europa Conference League) will automatically qualify for the Europa League — if they didn’t qualify for the Champions League.

Due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Russian clubs have been banned from playing in the Europa League for the 2022/23 season.

2022/23 UEFA Europa League
(Photo by OZAN KOSE/AFP via Getty Images)

2022/2023 Europa League Format

Matches are scheduled to take place on Thursdays — apart from the final, which takes place on a Wednesday — but there can be exceptions for games to be played on Tuesdays or Wednesdays due to scheduling conflicts or other factors.

32 teams have been drawn into 8 groups comprising of 4 each.

For the knockout stages, there will be a Preliminary knockout round comprising of 16 teams where 8 group stage runners-up will come up against 8 third-placed teams from the Champions League group stages.

Thereafter, there will be another (proper) round of 16 played between the 8 winners from the preliminary knockout round and the 8 group winners from the Europa League group stages.

Then the quarterfinals, semifinals, and the final, respectively.

For the 2022/23 UEFA Europa League, Norwegian club Bodø/Glimt, French club Nantes, German club Union Berlin, and Belgian club Union Saint-Gilloise will be making their debut appearances in the group stage.

Union Saint-Gilloise will be making their first-ever appearance in the group stage of a UEFA competition.

A total of 23 countries are represented in this season’s Europa League group stage.


UEFA Europa League 2022/23 group stage draws

Group A: Arsenal, PSV, Bodø/Glimt , FC Zürich.

Group B: Dynamo Kyiv, Rennes, Fenerbahce, AEK Larnaca.

Group C: AS Roma, Ludogorets, Real Betis, HJK Helsinki.

Group D: Sporting Braga, Union Berlin, Malmo, Union Saint-Gilloise.

Group E: Manchester United, Real Sociedad, Sheriff Tiraspol, AC Omonia.

Group F: Lazio, Feyenoord, Midtjylland, Sturm Graz.

Group G: Olympiacos, Qarabag, SC Freiburg, Nantes.

Group H: Red Star Belgrade, Monaco, Ferencváro, Trabzonspor.

2022/23 Europa League Final

The final of the 2022/23 Europa League will be played at the Puskás Aréna in Budapest, Hungary.

The venue was originally scheduled to host the 2021/22 final but was delayed because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Europa League 2022/23 Prize Money

Like the UEFA Champions League, the prize money that will be received by Europa League clubs is divided into fixed payments based on participation and results, as well as variable amounts that depend on the value of their TV market.

For the 2021/22 season, group stage participation in the Europa League awarded a base fee of €3,630,000.

A victory in the group paid €630,000 and a draw €210,000.

Also, each group winner earned €1.1m, and each runner-up €550,000.

Reaching the knockout stage triggered additional bonuses: €500,000 for the round of 32, €1.2m for the round of 16, €1.8m for the quarterfinals, and €2.8m for the semifinals.

The losing finalists received €4.6m, and the champions got €8.6m.

Did you know?

The Europa League finals (then known as UEFA Cup) were played over two legs until 1997.

The first ever final, between Wolverhampton Wanderers and Tottenham Hotspur, was played on the 3rd of May 1972 in Wolverhampton and the 17th of May 1972 in London.

Tottenham won the first leg 2-1 while the second leg ended in a 1-1 draw — meaning that Tottenham Hotspur were the first ever winners of the UEFA Cup.

The most successful club in Europa League history is Sevilla, with 6 titles (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020).

They are followed by:

Inter Milan 3 titles (1991, 1994, 1998).

Liverpool 3 (1973, 1976, 2001).

Juventus 3 (1977, 1990, 1993).

Atlético Madrid 3 (2010, 2012, 2018).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 Best Box-to-Box Midfielders in 2022
Nicolò Barella

7 Best Box-to-Box Midfielders in 2022

The box-to-box midfielder is one of the most important positions in football

What Happens If A Goalkeeper Gets A Red Card?
What Happens If A Goalkeeper Gets A Red Card?

What Happens If A Goalkeeper Gets A Red Card?

From making the wrong tackle to handling the ball outside of his goal line,

You May Also Like