Popular Football Clubs That Don’t Own The Stadium They Play Their Home Games

Football clubs that don't own their stadiums

In modern-day football, it’s typical for soccer clubs to own stadiums where they play their home games. Apart from financial reasons owning your own ground creates an atmosphere of intimidation to any visiting opposing team. 

However, not all clubs enjoy this luxury. A few have had to call elsewhere home for many years. Here are some popular football clubs that don’t own their stadiums, where they okay home games.

1. Hertha Berlin – Olympiastadion Berlin 

The Berlin Olympic Stadium is the home ground of German Bundesliga side Hertha BSC. The magnificent sports complex was constructed in the 1930s by the German government ahead of the 1936 Olympics hosted in Berlin. The Stadium was renovated in 2004 to serve as one of the designated stadiums for the FIFA 2006 World Cup hosted by Germany. The multipurpose sports complex has a capacity of about 74,475 and has been the home of Hertha Berlin since 1963.

2. Kaizer Chiefs – First National Bank (FNB) Stadium 

The FNB Stadium is located in Johannesburg, South Africa. It is the home ground of South African Premier League side Kaizer Chiefs FC. The Stadium was one of the venues of the 2010 FIFA World Cup hosting the final between Spain and the Netherlands. The beautiful structure has been renovated over the years since it was first constructed in 1987 by the South African government. Its most recent reconstruction changed the look to a unique calabash-like arena. The Stadium has a 94,000 capacity.

3. Fluminense & Flamengo – Estadio do Maracana

Estadio do Maracana
Estadio do Maracana

The iconic Maracana stadium is located in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The famous Stadium hosts the home games of Brazilian top-flight clubs CR Flamengo and Fluminense FC. The historic venue was built by the Brazilian government ahead of the 1950 World Cup hosted in Brazil. The unique name of the Stadium was derived from the Maracana river located to the North of the city of Rio. The Stadium has a capacity just under 79,000.

4. AS Roma and Lazio – Stadio Olympico 

The Stadium located in the Italian capital Rome plays host to Serie A side AS Roma. The Stadium is owned by the Italian Olympic Committee and was built as the host venue for the 1964 Olympics held in Rome. The Stadium has a capacity of 70,634.

5. Yokohama F. Marinos – Nissan Stadium (Yokohama)

The Nissan Stadium, formerly known as International Yokohama Stadium, is home to J-League side Yokohama F. Marinos. It’s located in the Japanese city of Yokohama. The venue which served as one of the designated stadiums for the 2002 FIFA World Cup jointly hosted by Japan and South Korea was opened in 1998. It also has a capacity of just above 72,000. 

6. Inter Milan – San Siro

Football clubs that don't own their stadiums

The San Siro in Milan is the most famous stadium Italy. AC Milan and Inter Milan are two football clubs that share one stadium. The San Siro Stadium is owned by AC Milan and has a capacity of 80,018, making it one of the biggest stadiums in both Italy and Europe. In 1947, Inter used to play in the Arena Civica downtown, but later became tenants and the two clubs have shared the ground ever since.

7. Coventry City – St. Andrew’s Stadium

St. Andrews in Bordesley, England has been the home stadium of Birmingham since 1906, who are also owners. However, Birmingham agreed to a ground-sharing agreement with Coventry City for the 2019-20 season. This agreement has not been easy for the Coventry supporters, as Coventry is located at a 38-mile round trip from St. Andrew’s stadium.

8. Hellas Verona & Chievo Verona – Stadio Marc’Antonio Bentegodi

The Stadio Marc’Antonio Bentegodi is owned by the Municipality of Verona. The 39,211-capacity stadium was opened in 1963 and renovated in 1989. The magnificent stadium which was named after Marcantonio Bentegodi, serves as home ground to two Italian sides Hellas Verona and Chievo.

9. Genoa & Sampdoria – Stadio Luigi Ferraris

The Stadio Luigi Ferraris in Genoa, opened in 1911 is one of the oldest stadiums in football, and is owned by the Municipality of Genoa. The 36,600 capacity stadium is rented by Italian sides Genoa and Sampdoria.

10. Club Brugge and Cercle Brugge – Jan Breydel Stadium

The Jan Breydel Stadium is owned by the city of Sint-Andries, Bruges, in Belgium. The stadium was built in 1975 and is home to both Club Brugge and Cercle Brugge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Everything To Know About The 2020/2021 UEFA Europa League Season
2020/21 UEFA Europa League

Everything To Know About The 2020/2021 UEFA Europa League Season

Another season of the second most prestigious competition in Europe is upon us

Top 20 Youngsters To Watch Out For This 2020/21 Season

Top 20 Youngsters To Watch Out For This 2020/21 Season

As football returns after the coronavirus pandemic brought it to a halt, the

You May Also Like