Things You May Not Know About The Serie A Soccer Tournament

Serie A tournaments are organized into groups according to regions

In this article we will summarize all the interesting information about the Serie A soccer tournament – Italy. Surely there will be interesting information that you have never heard of. Please follow our article carefully!

Serie A matches in the 2020/2021 season are available directly at the live soccer Follow the schedule of Italian football matches to not miss any matches.

What is the Serie A tournament?

For the majority of the seasons in the history of the Italian National Championships, 16 or 18 clubs have usually attended. Since the 2004-2005 season, this number has risen to 20 clubs. There is only one season (season 1947-1948) has 21 clubs attending for political reasons. Serie A is the highest professional football league at club level in the Italian football system. The Serie A champion will be awarded the Scudetto title and the Coppa Campioni d’Italia trophy. Tournaments have been active for over 90 years since the 1929-30 first season.

This is one of the top football leagues in the world. The attractiveness of Serie A comes from talented players and is the most tactical tournament. Serie A is currently ranked 3rd in the UEFA rankings after the Premier League and La Liga. The tournament also topped the UEFA rankings in the period 1986-1988 and 1990-1999.

Famous football clubs like Juventus, Inter Milan and AC Milan are the founding members of G14. This is the group that represents Europe’s largest and most prestigious top clubs. In particular, Inter Milan is the only team that has never been relegated.

In addition to the three teams above, Serie A also has other strong teams, AS Roma, Fiorentina, Napoli and Lazio, along with Juventus, Inter and AC Milan to form the group of 7 sisters of Serie A.

Serie A championship title
The Serie A championship title is commonly referred to as the Scudetto

What is the Scudetto?

The word Scudetto in Italian means small shield. This is the badge worn by the Serie A champions and other sports last season. The Scudetto was created in the 1920s, the team that received the first Scudetto title was Genoa in 1924.

The inventor of the Scudetto is the Italian poet and playwright Gabriele D’Annunzio. As a young man, he was a football fanatic and, in 1887, went to London to buy balls from the Football League’s ball-making supplier to bring back his hometown of Pescara to play with friends.

In 1920, D’Annunzio proposed that local teams acknowledge Italian sovereignty over the city with a small shield with three colors on the shirt being green, white and red. By 1924, the FIGC approved the proposal and decided to honor the champions by allowing them to wear the scudetto badge on the jersey. Since then, the Scudetto has become the symbol of the defending champion in Italian sports leagues.

What is the history of Serie A?

The tournament was born in 1898, with some sources claiming that Serie A really came into existence in 1929 due to a change in the competition format.

From 1898 to 1922, the tournament was organized by region. By 1926, the Italian Football Confederation (FIGC) changed the important settings that led to the introduction of the present day ring-kick Serie A in 1929.

In the 2004-05 season, Juventus was awarded the real Coppa Campioni d’Italia trophy. Before that, between 1961 and 2004, the champion was awarded the trophy at the headquarters of the National Professional Club Association.

Serie A tournaments are organized into groups according to regions
Serie A tournaments are organized into groups according to regions

In 2009, Serie A announced its separation from Serie B, with 19/20 teams supporting this decision because of issues related to TV copyright. Only Lecce was the only team to vote against this decision.

Serie A format

A Serie A season usually runs from August to May, in a two-round circular format. Each club will meet the remaining 19 teams twice in a season (once at home and once away), for a total of 38 matches. However, unlike other leagues, in Italian football it’s true literal circle format applies.

During the first half of the season, called andata, each club will take turns meeting the remaining teams in the tournament for a total of 19 matches. During the second half of the season, known as ritorno, teams will play in the correct order they played in the first half of the season, with the only difference being home and away. As for other leagues, the second half’s order is not the same as the first half of the season. Since the 1994-1995 season, teams have been awarded 3 points for a win, one point for a draw and no points for a loss.

Serie A matches are always dramatic and fiery
Serie A matches are always dramatic and fiery

4 teams ranked in the top 4 positions in Serie A will be eligible to participate in the UEFA Champions League group stage (from the 2017-2018 season). Teams ranked 5th and 6th will be eligible for the UEFA Europa League. The third place to attend the UEFA Europa League will be reserved for the team that won the Coppa Italia Championship (Italian National Cup). If the Coppa Italia champion qualifies for the European Cup by taking the top 6 spots in the Italian Championship, the 7th Serie A team will be awarded this UEFA Europa League spot. The 3 lowest ranked teams will have to go down to play in Serie B. Follow the ranking of clubs fighting in Serie as well as refer to the latest football news via

From the 2005-2006 season, if there are cases where two or more teams equal points (for any position on the leaderboard), the ranking will be decided according to the following criteria respectively:

  • Head-to-head achievements (results and scores)
  • The difference between the head-to-head matches
  • General difference
  • The number of goals scored is higher
  • Lottery

From the past until the 2004-2005 season, if two teams are equal, a playoff will be used to determine the winner, the European Cup qualifier or relegation. Play-off matches will be held after the end of the season. The last championship play-off game ever happened was in the 1963-1964 season, when both Bologna and Inter Milan finished with 54 points. Bologna won the play-off match 2-0.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Top 5 Football Clubs in The Russian Premier League
Top Football clubs in Russia

Top 5 Football Clubs in The Russian Premier League

Russia has always had a proud football tradition

How To Buy An Authentic Soccer Jersey
How To Buy An Authentic Soccer Jersey

How To Buy An Authentic Soccer Jersey

Every soccer fan worth his salt would have one time in his life have bought a

You May Also Like